IN REMEMBERANCE: Happy Birthday Aaliyah!

Today would have marked our baby girl Aaliyah’s 31st birthday. Isn’t it crazy how fast time flies? I can’t help but wonder just how different this R&B game would be if Aaliyah was still here: who would still matter despite her presence and who we would never know of. She was on her way to taking over the world and it always saddens me to think about her. She was one of the first female singers that was realistically relatable to young girls like me; she wasn’t oversexed and her musical growth went right along with her personal growth. Aaliyah at 31, can you imagine? Maybe we just were never meant to know what that would have been like.

I wish we did, though. Happy birthday Aaliyah; we miss you.

Below are some of my favorite videos for your viewing pleasure. I can’t watch them because…yeah I’m too sensitive but here you go, check them out.

Aailyah – “Back and Forth” [1994]

Aaliyah – “At Your Best (You Are Love)” [1994]

Aaliyah – “Journey To The Past” [1997]

Aaliyah – “The One I Gave My Heart To” [1997]

Aaliyah – “One In A Million” [1997]

DMX feat. Aaliyah – “Back In One Piece” [2000]

Aaliyah feat. Timbaland – “Try Again” [2000]

Aaliyah feat. Timbaland – “We Need A Resolution” [2001]

Aaliyah – “More Than A Woman” [2001]

Aaliyah – “Rock The Boat” [2001]

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “IN REMEMBERANCE: Happy Birthday Aaliyah!

  1. J R says:

    I miss her soooooooooooo much

  2. Judith Snow says:

    she will always be my gaurdian angel, happy birthday aaliyah!

  3. clarita says:

    Yeah Aaliyah, you rocked the boat-gone too soon.

Leave a Reply

