TECHNOLOGY: No more iPhone for AT&T?! x Apple Tablet to be unveiled?!

If you know me, you know that I’m a total STAN for all things Apple. That being said, I’ve always been a bit bitter by my self-enforced deprivation of one iPhone due to their service provider of choice, AT&T’s extreme lameosity [word of the day, folks; use it in a sentence =)] The corporate gods, however, have decided to smile on me and everyone else who was waiting for this glorious day to come.

THE iPHONE’S LEAVING AT&T!!

*clears throat* Excuse my eagerness, but this has been a long time coming. We all knew that AT&T only had a two or three year contract with Apple for the iPhone, so this day was expected. Rumor has it that the contract could be terminated as early as Wednesday at Apple’s “Come See Our Latest Creation” event when the new features on the iPhone will also be unveiled. That’s still a rumor in regards to the exact date the exclusivity will end, but it’s definitely over for AT&T. My guess is that Verizon and T-Mobile are gonna butt heads to stake claim on it; I haven’t heard anything about Sprint getting in on the action thus far, but if Apple is holding off from signing a contract with a new provider until early summer like I’ve been hearing, maybe Sprint is just pacing themselves for now.

My personal opinion, I dig Sprint and T-Mobile but I have the sneaky suspicion that Verizon’s gonna win this battle and become the cellular juggernaut it claims itself to be. I’m not too sure how VCast is gonna look on the iPhone, though. I don’t know; I’m just gonna need an announcement soon so I can get my ducks in a row and go to whoever does wind up with it. Oh happy day.

Speaking of Wednesday’s event, this announcement also has my knickers in a bunch –I mean that in a positive way, if it can be meant in a positive way =

Apple’s all geared up to unveil their TABLET Wednesday, and I couldn’t be more thrilled. In our generation, touch gadgets have definitely taken over, and I don’t mind at all. My typing’s gotten a lot better thanks to touchscreen. It’s said to be in direct competition with Amazon’s Kindle. Although this is going to primarily be an e-book tablet, there are rumors that it’ll not only use WiFi it’ll also have 3G accessibility MEANING that a service provider will be required to run 3G. It may be the same provider that takes over the iPhone, but that remains to be seen.

A browser may be included as well, but those and other details including its second function as a netbook will be ironed out this Wednesday in San Francisco at 10AM PST. I’m personally interested in how it’s going to look; many say it may resemble a larger iPhone, something like the flick below.

(isn’t that shit sexy?! and that’s just what people THINK it’s gonna look like!)

I’m DEFINITELY copping this, as long as I can surf the ‘net on it. Cost is something else to be discussed but it has been stated that it won’t cost anymore than $1000. For that, though, I’m gonna need for it to have as many computer capabilities as it can fit on there. Hey, I’m just sayin’.

I’ll be tuned in to the live stream, and report to you guys all that I found out. It’ll be a great day for us Apple users for sure.

Stay COOL, folks.

source: Business Insider

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

