DISCOVER: Mayer Hawthorne

His name was all over Austin last week for SXSW and is on the lips of everyone I come across. On his MySpace page, he says he sounds like “magic”, and he’d be right about that.

Ann Arbor, Michigan’s Mayer Hawthorne’s sound is…well, it’s magic. With influences originating in the late ’60s and early ’70s, Mayer has managed to take a nostalgic genre of music and modernized it for the new generation.

I’m super duper pissed at myself for not being able to catch any of his sets in Austin AND I managed to miss him when he was in Houston earlier that week too -I have all the luck, right?- but yesterday I caught his video for “I Wish It Would Rain”, and fell in love. This guy is amazing.

What you have to do now is head over to iTunes or StonesThrow.com and purchase his 2009 album, A Strange Arrangement, then tell five people you know about Mayer Hawthorne. He’s currently on tour so hit his MySpace page up for dates, photos, and an awesome bio that gives you the skinny on the man.

Michigan is really providing the industry with quality music steadily, and I embrace this with open arms.

Because I love you all SO much, take a listen to “Maybe So, Maybe No”, one of the songs that’s quickly becoming one of my favorites from this album. HURRY UP AND BUY!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

