IN REMEMBERANCE: NINE YEARS LATER – Aaliyah

I know I posted mad videos earlier this year for Aaliyah’s birthday, but today is a day I cannot remove from my memory. On August 25, 2001, Aaliyah Haughton, along with eight other passengers, lost her life in a plane crash as they were leaving a video shoot in the Bahamas. I remember that shit like it was yesterday:

It was a Sunday and I was getting ready to go to some park with  my family when MTV flashed the breaking news across the screen. I swear I was in so much shock, it was unreal. When I got home, MTV was airing her Diary episode and I just could not believe this beautiful person had lost her life due to someone else’s carelessness.

That being said, here’s the Diary that made me love her and miss her even more. RIP babygirl.

Hit the click for part two…

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “IN REMEMBERANCE: NINE YEARS LATER – Aaliyah

  1. PrettieBirdie says:

    I wrote something on my tumblr about this. Here it is:

    I remember when I heard that Aaliyah passed away. I couldn’t believe it. I was outside one summer night and this girl that lived on my block walked past my porch where I was sitting with my friends and said “Did yall hear Aaliyah died?” We didn’t believe her at all and just knew that she has some horrible misinformation. It made me feel horrible and I had to find out from a reliable source that she was wrong. Sadly she wasn’t and I was so sick about it. I really loved her music and honestly I still can not listen to some of her music without feeling some type of way. I hope she is resting in the arms of the Father. She definitely left her mark on her fans.

    It’s still hard to believe sometimes because she had so much promise…her career was really taking off and Honey would have been a much better movie (no shade to Jessica Alba)

  2. aaliyah says:

    i miss aaliyah so much why did she have to get on that plane

  3. aaliyah says:

    some people say beyonce tried to take her place but guess what fuck beyonce cant no one take aaliyah place i miss her why cant she be hear

Leave a Reply

