Daily Archives: March 9, 2011

DOPE: BIG SEAN x CHAD KOOLINGTON

The Chad Koolington tumblr posted this picture of Big Sean receiving a tee after a show recently in Atlanta.

live4thekool:

Big Sean and Chad Koolington FTW

Dope!

PEEP: “JUICY” – THE NOTORIOUS B.I.G. (LIVE @ MTV’S “THE GRIND” – 1995)

Damn, just found some footage of Biggie performing one of my favorites, “Juicy”, on “The Grind” back in ‘95. That used to be my show; check it out!

Tagged , , , , , ,

REMEMBERING: THE NOTORIOUS B.I.G.

Fourteen years ago today, Christopher Wallace (better known to the world as the Notorious B.I.G.) was gunned down in Los Angeles, California by a still unidentified suspect. It was just six short months after rapper Tupac Shakur died of gunshot wounds after a drive-by in Las Vegas, Nevada. The world has grieved tremendously each year, remembering their life’s work and today is no different for Mr. Wallace.

Now, I won’t claim myself to be the biggest Biggie fan in the world; I was only ten when he died and I got the significance of his death…but I didn’t at the same time. That makes sense to somebody out there. I liked some of his songs though and I pay my respects every year because Biggie did change music for the time he was here, with the help of one Puff Daddy.

As with every artist who has passed before their time, everyone wonders what Biggie’s music would sound like today; what rappers would still be relevant; how the rap scene, as a whole, would look like, but all we can do is speculate and remember him with the music he gave us while he was here.

R.I.P Big Poppa.

Tagged , , , ,