THE COOL @ SXSW: THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE LACK OF BADGES (GRRR…)

Overall, my experience in Austin was better than last year mainly because there was no one there to ruin my good time this go round. I didn’t get to attend nearly as many shows as I wanted to, thanks to the badge/wristband stipulation that were peppered throughout the festival.

Shit royally sucked and 95% of the staff I ran into were assholes about it too.

The shows I DID get into were pretty dope: I managed to catch the tail end of the annual Rumbler Lounge show at Peckerheads and peeped Jay Rock, Kendrick Lamar, and The Cool Kids; The Light Bar hosted a show that I caught Finally Famous alum SayItAintTone at and Big Sean was there to support as they wound up performing “My Closet” together (DOPE!); At Suite 101, there was a showcase but I only stayed for one act (Hank & Cupcakes) that I may end up profiling sooner than later; the grand finale on my SXSW adventure was (of course) the Sore Losers set at Nuvola. Epic is the only thing that could describe that experience.

I went to a bar for the first time and even got a free drink after the bartender pitied me (he knew I didn’t want to be there), had a Rum & Coke for the first (and second) time, and saw a woman dancing topless to some rousing drum beats on 6th. Oh, Austin, you never let me down. I also hit the NiceKicks shop for the The Hundreds event and stayed long enough to meet nearly half my Twitter timeline, which was dope, at the Bun B birthday event. Jeremy of UnkommonKolor snapped my picture as I was wearing my “We Are The Fly” shirt and it was crazy how EVERYBODY knew it was me once they actually saw me; “you’re Steph” and other variations of that was all I heard, which was funny. I guess as much as I tweet, they’ve seen my default enough times to know my face off top. Good or bad thing…?

Next year, all badges all the freakin’ way. I mean that. My hotel (Habitat Suites) was pretty bomb though but I’ll be staying downtown so I can wander all I want and not have to get home by cab. Shit gets expensive mad quick. I won’t dwell on shit that didn’t work out in my favor because that would be negative. I’ll just say that next year is gonna be ON: I’m booking all my shit this fall, no lie.

If you EVER want to experience the epicness that SXSW brings to Austin on a yearly basis, start saving now and get your ass there next year! Don’t just read your social networking pages and wish you could partake in the festivities; come be a part of it and have the time of your life! There’s always something for everyone, so there’s no excuse. I wanna see some familiar faces next March =)

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

